Table Mountain rising above Cape Town, South Africa

5 countries Β· 8 cities

Africa & Middle East

An emerging nomad scene anchored by Cape Town's coworking culture, with more of the region opening dedicated remote-work visas each year.

Photo: Unsplash, free-to-use licence

Africa & Middle East in short

Africa & Middle East has 8 cities in 5 countries on this site. A mid-range solo month runs from about $900 in Flic en Flac to about $2,800 in Dubai, with a median of about $1,350 (our planning estimates, method). 4 of the 5 countries have a remote-work or nomad route marked open in the visa tracker; 1 (Morocco) are not in the tracker yet. The visa rows below were read on official pages between 28 Sept 2026 and 2 Oct 2026.

Visa routes compared

One row per tracker record. Income is the figure as published, in the currency the authority uses (a row marked as our arithmetic applies a published formula); we do not convert it here because exchange rates move faster than the rules. The tracker has fees, processing times and every source.

CountrySchemeStatusIncome ruleFirst stayChecked
South AfricaRemote Work Visa (visitor's visa category, effective 9 October 2024)Open650,796 ZAR a yearNot stated on the page read
UAEVisa Issuance (Virtual Work), Dubai GDRFAOpen3,500 USD a month12 months, renewable
MauritiusPremium VisaOpen1,500 USD a month12 months, renewable
MoroccoNo remote-work scheme in the tracker yet
KenyaPermit Class N: Digital Nomads (KEP/N)OpenNo fixed amount in the official text readNot stated on the page read

Africa & Middle East cities by monthly cost Planning estimates, see method

Sorted from cheapest. Monthly cost is a mid-range solo scenario in US dollars; housing is the accommodation line of the same scenario. Wifi and safety are planning figures, not measurements.

CityCountryMonth, est.Housing, est.Wifi, est.Safety, est.Best months
Flic en FlacMauritius$900$500 (56%)50 Mbps8/10May, Jun, Jul, Aug, Sep
MarrakechMorocco$1,100$450 (41%)60 Mbps6/10Oct, Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, Mar
Cape TownSouth Africa$1,300$600 (46%)60 Mbps6/10Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, Mar
DurbanSouth Africa$1,300$550 (42%)80 Mbps6/10Mar, Apr, May, Sep, Oct, Nov
NairobiKenya$1,400$600 (43%)50 Mbps5/10Jan, Feb, Jun, Jul, Aug, Sep
Grand BaieMauritius$1,500$900 (60%)80 Mbps8/10May, Jun, Jul, Aug, Sep
Abu DhabiUAE$2,200$1,300 (59%)220 Mbps9/10Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, Mar
DubaiUAE$2,800$1,600 (57%)200 Mbps9/10Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, Mar

Guides for Africa & Middle East

How this page is built: visa rows are read from the audited tracker, which links each figure to an official page and dates the check; city figures are editorial planning estimates (method). Rules change, so confirm with the authority before you apply. Researched from official immigration pages and the site's cost dataset.

Countries

Cities

Cost, wifi and safety are planning estimates. Method