Medellin city and green mountain valley seen from a remote-work terrace

Visas

Colombia Digital Nomad Visa (V Visa): Requirements

Published Updated By Nomad Terminal editorial

Researched from official docs and public sources, checked .

Photo: Nomad Terminal, free-to-use licence

Colombia’s digital nomad visa (Visa V, Visitante Nómada Digital) asks you to show income of at least three monthly minimum wages on bank statements for the last three months. With the 2026 minimum wage at COP 1,750,905, that is COP 5,252,715 a month. The visa lasts up to two years, you apply online through the Foreign Ministry’s platform, and the fee page lists USD 183 for the visa plus a USD 56 study fee. Health insurance valid in Colombia is required. Record: tracker row.

Requirements

ItemRuleSource
IncomeAt least 3 monthly minimum wages (SMMLV), shown by bank statements for the last 3 monthsRes. 5477/2022, Art. 46
2026 minimum wageCOP 1,750,905 a monthDecree 159/2026
Income bar, 2026COP 5,252,715 a month (our arithmetic)derived
ValidityUp to 2 yearsRes. 5477/2022
Health insurancePolicy valid in Colombia covering accident, illness, maternity, disability, hospitalisation, death and repatriationRes. 5477/2022
FamilyThe main holder may request visas for beneficiariesRes. 5477/2022
FeesUSD 183 visa fee plus USD 56 study fee (EUR 141 plus EUR 44)Fee page
WhereOnline, Cancilleria visa platform (Sitac)Sitac

Read and translated from Spanish on 29 Sept 2026.

Not verified

  • Processing time: not stated on the pages read.
  • Savings instead of income: Art. 46 gives no savings alternative.
  • Every month above the bar, or an average: the article asks for statements for the last three months showing the amount. Whether one weaker month sinks an application is not stated; plan for each month to clear it.
  • Which insurers are accepted: no official list. Check your policy wording against each cover named in the table above, repatriation included. Our insurance comparison shows what the main nomad plans state.
  • Renewal: not stated on the pages read.

Tax

The tax office DIAN says you become tax resident after more than 183 calendar days in Colombia within any 365 consecutive days, and its page says nothing about digital nomads (DIAN, read 29 Sept 2026). PwC’s summary (last reviewed 21 July 2026) says residents are taxed on worldwide income. A two-year visa can therefore make you a Colombian tax resident; see the nomad visa tax-residency table.

How it compares

The lowest-income ranking lists Colombia among the formula-based bars that reset each January. Brazil’s VITEM XIV asks USD 1,500 a month and Costa Rica USD 3,000. For a base, read the Medellin neighbourhood guide or the Bogota guide.

Researched from Colombian Foreign Ministry and tax-office pages and a PwC summary; official pages read 29 Sept 2026. Not legal or tax advice.

Sources

Update log

  1. Rewritten from the visa tracker record, whose official pages were read on 29 Sept 2026: income now stated as 3 minimum wages (COP 5,252,715 a month in 2026, our arithmetic from Decree 159/2026) shown on 3 months of bank statements, not 6; fees USD 183 plus USD 56. Removed unsourced claims: USD income range, 6 months of work history, processing time, insurer names, the every-single-month rule. Government pages could not be reopened on 1 Nov, so nothing was re-read on that date.